

MICROFINANCE BANKS LICENSED BY THE CENTRAL BANK OF KENYA

Pursuant to Section 8(2) of The Microfinance (Deposit-Taking Microfinance Institutions) Regulations, 2008, the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) hereby notifies the general public of the following institutions duly licensed to carry out the deposit-taking microfinance business in Kenya:

No.	Name of the Institution	Category	Date licensed
1.	Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	May 21, 2009
2.	Kenya Women Microfinance Bank PLC.	Nationwide	March 31, 2010
3.	Salaam Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	November 8, 2010
4.	SMEP Microfinance Bank PLC.	Nationwide	December 14, 2010
5.	LOLC Kenya Microfinance Bank PLC.	Nationwide	December 31, 2010
6.	Rafiki Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	June 14, 2011
7.	Branch Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	September 17, 2012
8.	Sumac Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	October 29, 2012
9.	U & I Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	April 8, 2013
10.	Umba Microfinance Bank Limited	Community	January 12, 2015
11.	Choice Microfinance Bank Limited	Community	May 13, 2015
12.	Caritas Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	June 2, 2015
13.	On It Microfinance Bank Limited	Nationwide	May 21, 2016
14.	Muungano Microfinance Bank PLC.	Community	October 30, 2019

A current list of these institutions and related information is available on CBK's website **www.centralbank.go.ke**